Key EcoPark System Supporters Awarded Hamilton Environmentalists of the Year Awards

Jun 09, 2016

We are very fortunate to have many people behind the scenes working within the Cootes to Escarpment EcoPark System partner organizations to further the EcoPark Systems vision. Two of those individuals; Wayne Terryberry and Chris Firth-Eagland, were honoured on June 8th for their contributions to the environment at the Hamilton Environmentalists of the Year Awards.

Wayne Terryberry was a winner of the Dr. Victor Cecilioni Award for the Environmentalist of the Year. Wayne is the McMaster University rep for the Cootes to Escarpment EcoPark System and is an important member of our Management Committee. He also founded the Hamilton Burlington Trails Council which started as a working group within the Cootes to Escarpment EcoPark System. Wayne has spent 20 years teaching university students about outdoor education and recreation. He is also a member of several other committees including the Ontario Trails Council and the Hamilton Conservation Authority Conservation Advisory Committee. Wayne has changed the lives of innumerable staff, students and community members through his passionate commitment to the environment and the outdoors.

Chris Firth-Eagland, CAO of Hamilton Conservation Authority, sits on our Governing Council and last night he received a Lifetime Achievement Award. The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes Chris for over 30 years of environmental action in his personal and professional life. He has also been a key part of the Hamilton Parks Department and the Hamilton Waterfront Trust. As a natural leader, his dedication to environmental causes and his negotiating skills in building consensus have generated a string of accomplishments. Chris conceived a number of ideas focused on bringing the community and the environment together, including the development of the Waterfront Trail and the Hamilton Beach Trail. He was instrumental in a landmark protocol with Haudenosaunee to respect their traditional rights to harvest deer, and served seven years as chair of the Conservation Authority board.

Congratulations to Wayne and Chris!

  • bruce trail
  • city of burlington
  • Conservation Halton
  • Halton Region
  • City of Hamilton
  • Hamilton Conservation Authority
  • hamilton harbour
  • Hamilton Naturalists' club
  • McMaster
  • RBG

Funding provided by:

Designed by Chimpanzee | Website Support